On September 19, 1970.


On September 19, 1970, “Reprise” label released “After the Gold Rush”, the third Neil Young studio album. It was recorded 1969 – June 1970, at “Sunset Sound” in Hollywood; “Sound City”; “Van Nuys” in Los Angeles, and “Redwood Studios” in Topanga, California, and was produced by Neil Young, David Briggs and Kendall Pacios. In 1998, “Q”  magazine readers voted “After the Gold Rush” the 89th greatest album of all time. In 2003, Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 71 on its list of the “500 Greatest Album of All Time”. In 2003, “NME” magazine ranked “After the Gold Rush” at number 80 of the list of the “Greatest Albums of All Time. In 1986, the album was certified 2 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”, and 2 x Platinum in UK by the “BPI” in 2004.


  • Neil Young — lead vocals, guitar, piano, harmonica, vibes
  • Stephen Stills— vocals
  • Danny Whitten — vocals, guitar
  • Nils Lofgren — vocals, guitar, piano
  • Jack Nitzsche— piano
  • Billy Talbot— bass
  • Greg Reeves — bass
  • Ralph Molina — vocals, drums
  • Bill Peterson — flugelhorn

Track listing:

All tracks by Neil Young except where noted.

  1. Tell Me Why
  2. After the Gold Rush
  3. Only Love Can Break Your Heart
  4. Southern Man
  5. Till the Morning Comes
  6. Oh, Lonesome Me – Don Gibson
  7. Don’t Let It Bring You Down
  8. Birds
  9. When You Dance I Can Really Love
  10. I Believe in You
  11. Cripple Creek Ferry


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.