On September 18, 1970.


On September 18, 1970, “Vertigo” label released “Paranoid”, the second Black Sabath studio album. It was recorded in June 1970, at “Regent Sound Studios” and “Island Studios” in London, and was produced by Rodger Bain. In 1989, Kerrang! magazine listed the album at number 39 on its list of the “100 Greatest Heavy Metal Albums of All Time”. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 130 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time. In 2006, “Guitar World” magazine ranked “Paranoid” at number 6 on its list of “The Greatest 100 Guitar Albums of All Time. The album was certified Platinum in Canada by CRIA, and Platinum in the US by the “RIIA:.


  • Ozzy Osbourne– vocals
  • Tony Iommi– guitar, flute
  • Geezer Butler– bass guitar
  • Bill Ward– drums, congas
  • Tom Allom – piano, engineer
  • Brian Humphries – engineer
  • Marcus Keef – graphic design, photography

Track listing:

All lyrics by Geezer Butler, except where noted; all music by Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler, Bill Ward and Ozzy Osbourne.

  1. War Pigs
  2. Paranoid
  3. Planet Caravan
  4. Iron Man
  5. Electric Funeral
  6. Hand of Doom
  7. Rat Salad
  8. Fairies Wear Boots – lyrics by Ozzy Osbourne and Geezer Butler

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.