On September 17, 1996.


On September 17, 1996, “Capricorn Records” label released “Fashion Nugget”, the second Cake studio album. It was recorded 1995-1996, and was produced by John McCrea, Greg Brown, Greg Vincent, Victor Damiani and Todd Roper. In 1997, the album was certified Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • John McCrea – lead vocals, acoustic guitar, organ
  • Greg Brown – electric guitar, organ
  • Greg Vincent – pedal steel guitar
  • Victor Damiani – bass guitar
  • Todd Roper – drums, percussion
  • Vince DiFiore – trumpet and percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by John McCrea, except where noted.

  1. Frank Sinatra
  2. The Distance – Greg Brown
  3. Friend Is a Four Letter Word
  4. Open Book – Greg Brown, John McCrea
  5. Dana
  6. Race Car Ya-Yas – Cake
  7. I Will Survive – Freddie Perren, Dino Fekaris
  8. Stickshifts and Safetybelts
  9. Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps – Osvaldo Farrés, Joe Davis
  10. It’s Coming Down
  11. Nugget
  12. She’ll Come Back to Me
  13. Italian Leather Sofa
  14. Sad Songs and Waltzes – Willie Nelson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.