On June 21, 1965.

Byrds - Mr Tambourine Man

On June 21, 1965, “Columbia” label released “Mr. Tambourine Man”, The Byrds debut album. It was recorded January 20 – April 22, 1965, at “Columbia Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Terry Melcher. The album opened the doors of success for The Byrds on the internationall music scene, and became first serious American response to the dominance of The Beatles and the British Invasion during the mid-1960s. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Mr. Tambourine Man” at number 232 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Jim McGuinn – vocals. lead guitar
  • Gene Clark- vocals, rhythm guitar, tambourine
  • David Crosby – vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Jerry Cole – rhythm guitar
  • Leon Russell- electric piano
  • Larry Knechtel- electric bass
  • Chris Hillman- electric bass
  • Michael Clarke- drums
  • Hal Blaine– drums
  • Barry Feinstein – photography

Track listing:

  1. Tambourine Man – Bob Dylan
  2. I’ll Feel a Whole Lot Better – Gene Clark
  3. Spanish Harlem Incident – Bob Dylan
  4. You Won’t Have to Cry – Gene Clark, Jim McGuinn
  5. Here Without You – Gene Clark
  6. The Bells of Rhymney – Idris Davies, Pete Seeger
  7. All I Really Want to Do – Bob Dylan
  8. I Knew I’d Want You – Gene Clark
  9. It’s No Use – Gene Clark, Jim McGuinn
  10. Don’t Doubt Yourself, Babe – Jackie DeShannon
  11. Chimes of Freedom – Bob Dylan
  12. We’ll Meet Again – Ross Parker, Hughie Charles



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.