On April 19, 1974.


On April 19, 1974, “Columbia” label released “Big Fun” a double album by Miles Davis. It was recorded November 1969; February and March 1970, and June 1972, at “Columbia Studios B and E”, and was produced by Teo Macero.


  • Miles Davis– trumpet, electric trumpet with wah wah
  • John McLaughlin– guitar
  • Khalil Balakrishna– electric sitar
  • Bihari Sharima– tamboura
  • Lonnie Liston Smith– piano
  • Harold I. Williams, Jr. –piano
  • Joe Zawinul– electric piano
  • Chick Corea– electric piano
  • Herbie Hancock– electric piano
  • Larry Young– organ, celeste
  • Sonny Fortune– soprano saxophone, flute
  • Carlos Garnett– soprano saxophone
  • Steve Grossman– soprano saxophone
  • Wayne Shorter– soprano saxophone
  • Bennie Maupin– clarinet, flute
  • Bennie Maupin– bass clarinet
  • Dave Holland– electric bass guitar, double bass
  • Harvey Brooks– electric bass guitar
  • Michael Henderson– electric bass
  • Billy Cobham– triangle, drums
  • Jack DeJohnette– drums
  • Al Foster– drums
  • Billy Hart– drums
  • Airto Moreira– cuíca, percussion, berimbau, Indian instruments
  • James Mtume– African percussion
  • Badal Roy– tabla
  • Seth Rothstein – project director
  • Frank Laico, Stan Tonkel – engineer
  • Russ Payne, Stan Weiss, John Guerriere – mixing
  • Corky McCoy– cover art

Track listing:

  1. Great Expectations – Miles Davis, Joe Zawinul
  • Great Expectations – Miles Davis, Joe Zawinul
  • Orange Lady – Joe Zawinul
  1. Ife – Miles Davis
  2. Recollections – Joe Zawinul
  3. Trevere – Miles Davis
  4. Go Ahead John – Miles Davis
  5. Lonely Fire – Miles Davis
  6. The Little Blue Frog – Miles Davis
  7. Yaphet – Miles Davis

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.