On February 11, 1985.

Meat is Murder

On February 11, 1985, “Rough Trade” label released “Meat Is Murder”, the second Smiths studio album. It was recorded in winter 1984, at the “Amazon Studios” in Liverpool and “Ridge Farm” in Surrey, and was produced by The Smiths. The album’s sleeve uses a 1967 photograph of Marine Cpl. Michael Wynn in the Vietnam War. In 2003, magazine ”Rolling Stone” ranked “Meat Is Murder”  at number 296 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Morrissey– vocals
  • Johnny Marr– guitars, piano
  • Andy Rourke– bass guitar
  • Mike Joyce– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Morrissey and Johnny Marr.

  1. The Headmaster Ritual
  2. Rusholme Ruffians
  3. I Want the One I Can’t Have
  4. What She Said
  5. That Joke Isn’t Funny Anymore
  6. Nowhere Fast
  7. Well I Wonder
  8. Barbarism Begins at Home
  9. Meat Is Murder




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s