On January 15, 1968.

Notorious Byrd Brothers

On January 15, 1968, “Columbia” label released “The Notorious Byrd Brothers”, the fifth The Byrds studio album. It was recorded June – December, 1967, at the “Columbia Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Gary Usher. In October 1967, in the middle of the recording sessions, David Crosby was fired and  drummer  Michael Clarke left the band , returning briefly before finally being dismissed after completion of the album. Gene Clark, the original band member, who had left the group in early 1966, rejoined for three weeks during the making of the album, before leaving again.


  • Roger McGuinn– lead guitar, Moog synthesizer, vocals
  • David Crosby– rhythm guitar, electric bass, vocals
  • Chris Hillman– electric bass, guitar, mandolin, vocals
  • Michael Clarke– drums
  • Gene Clark– backing vocal
  • Clarence White, James Burton– guitar
  • Red Rhodes– pedal steel guitar
  • Paul Beaver, Terry Trotter – piano
  • Paul Beaver, Gary Usher– Moog synthesizer
  • Barry Goldberg– organ
  • Dennis McCarthy– celeste
  • Jim Gordon– drums
  • Hal Blaine– drums
  • Lester Harris, Raymond Kelley, Paul Bergstrom, Jacqueline Lustgarten – cello
  • Victor Sazer, Carl West, William Armstrong – violin
  • Alfred McKibbon – double bass
  • Ann Stockton – harp
  • Richard Hyde– trombone
  • Jay Migliori– saxophone
  • Roy Caron, Virgil Fums, Gary Weber – brass
  • Dennis Faust, Gary Usher – percussion
  • Curt Boettcher, Gary Usher – backing vocals
  • Firesign Theatre– sound effects

Track listing:

  1. Artificial Energy – Roger McGuinn,Chris Hillman, Michael Clarke
  2. Goin’ Back – Carole King, Gerry Goffin
  3. Natural Harmony – Chris Hillman
  4. Draft Morning – David Crosby, Chris Hillm, Roger McGuinn
  5. Wasn’t Born to Follow – Carole King, Gerry Goffin
  6. Get to You – Gene Clark and Roger McGuinn
  7. Change Is Now – Chris Hillman, Roger McGuinn
  8. Old John Robertson – Chris Hillman, Roger McGuinn
  9. Tribal Gathering – David Crosby, Chris Hillma
  10. Dolphin’s Smile – David Crosby, Chris Hillman, Roger McGuinn
  11. Space Odyssey – Roger McGuinn, Robert J. Hippard

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s