On January 15, 1969.


On January 15, 1970, “Atlantic” label released “Back in the USA”, the debut MC5 studio album, and second album overall, following 1969’s live album “Kick out the Jams”. It was recorded in 1969, at the “GM Studios” in Detroit, and was produced by Jon Landau.


  • Rob Tyner – vocals
  • Wayne Kramer– guitar, backing vocals
  • Fred “Sonic” Smith– lead and backing vocals, guitar
  • Michael Davis– bass
  • Dennis Thompson– drums
  • Danny Jordan – keyboards
  • Pete Kelly – keyboards

Track listing:

All tracks by Rob Tyner, Wayne Kramer , Fred Smith, Michael Davis, and Dennis Thompson except where noted.

  1. Tutti Frutti – Dorothy LaBostrie, Joe Lubin, Richard Penniman
  2. Tonight
  3. Teenage Lust
  4. Let Me Try
  5. Looking at You
  6. High School
  7. Call Me Animal
  8. The American Ruse
  9. Shakin’ Street
  10. The Human Being Lawnmower
  11. Back in the U.S.A.

2 thoughts on “On January 15, 1969.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.