On November 30, 1982.


On November 30, 1982, “Epic” label released “Thriller”, the sixth Michael Jackson studio album.  It was recorded April – November 1982, at the “Westlake Recording Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Quincy Jones and Michael Jackson. With more than 65 million copies sold worldwide“Thriller” is the best selling album of all time. In 1984, the album won a record eight “Grammy Awards”, including “Album of the Year” award. In 2003 magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked “Thriller” on number 20 on its list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. “The National Association of Recording Merchandisers” ranked “Thriller” at number three in its “Definitive 200” albums of all time. The album was included in the “Library of Congress’ National Recording Registry” of culturally significant recordings. In 2012, magazine “Slant” ranked “Thriller” at number one on its list of “Best Albums of the 1980”.


  • Michael Jackson – lead and backing vocals, drum case beater, bathroom stomp board, handclaps, vocal arrangements, rhythm arrangements , horn arrangements , synthesizer arrangements
  • Paul McCartney– vocals
  • Quincy Jones– rhythm arrangements, vocal arrangements, musical arrangements
  • Steve Lukather– guitar, bass guitar, additional guitars  musical arrangements
  • Eddie Van Halen– guitar
  • Paul Jackson, Jr.– guitar
  • Dean Parks – guitar
  • David Williams – guitar
  • Rod Temperton – keyboards, synthesizers, rhythm arrangements, vocal arrangements , synthesizer arrangements
  • Steve Porcaro – keyboards, synthesizers, synthesizer programming , musical arrangements
  • Bill Wolfer – keyboards , synthesizers, synthesizer programming
  • Brian Banks – keyboards, synthesizer, synthesizer programming
  • Michael Boddicker– keyboards, synthesizers, Emulator, Vocoder
  • N’dugu Chancler– drums
  • Paulinho da Costa– percussion
  • David Foster– synthesizers, synthesizer arrangements
  • Anthony Marinelli– synthesizer programming
  • David Paich – keyboards, synthesizers, piano, rhythm arrangements, musical arrangements
  • Greg Phillinganes – keyboards , synthesizers, electric piano, synthesizer programming
  • Greg Smith – synthesizers
  • Louis Johnson– bass guitar
  • Jeff Porcaro – drums
  • Larry Williams – saxophone, flute
  • Jerry Hey– trumpet, flugelhorn, horn arrangements, string arrangements, strings conductor
  • Gary Grant – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Bill Reichenbach – trombone
  • Chris Shepard  – vibraslap
  • Vincent Price – voice-over
  • La Toya Jackson, Janet Jackson – backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Wanna Be Startin’ Something – Michael Jackson
  2. Baby Be Mine – Rod Temperton
  3. The Girl Is Mine – Michael Jackson
  4. Thriller – Rod Temperton
  5. Beat It – Michael Jackson
  6. Billie Jean – Michael Jackson
  7. Human Nature – Steve Porcaro, John Bettis
  8. Pretty Young Thing – James Ingram, Quincy Jones
  9. The Lady In My Life – Rod Temperton

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.