On October 9, 1979.


On October 9, 1979, “Mulligan Records” released “The Fine Art of Surfacing”, the third Boomtown Rats album.  It was recorded in 1979, and was produced by Robert John “Mutt” Lange and Phil Wainman. The album contained the track “I Don’t Like Mondays”, that became band’s trademark song.


  • Bob Geldof– vocals, saxophone
  • Pete Briquette– bass, vocals
  • Gerry Cott– guitar
  • Johnnie Fingers– keyboards, vocals
  • Simon Crowe– drums, vocals
  • Garry Roberts– guitar, vocals

Track listing:

All compositions by Bob Geldof, except where noted.

  1. Someone’s Looking at You
  2. Diamond Smiles
  3. Wind Chill Factor (Minus Zero)
  4. Having My Picture Taken – Bob Geldof, Pete Briquette
  5. Sleep (Fingers’ Lullaby) – Johnnie Fingers
  6. A hidden track(with lyrics including “that’s not funny, I’m not laughing”), on the original LP playing through to the run-out groove.
  7. I Don’t Like Mondays
  8. Nothing Happened Today
  9. Keep It Up – Bob Geldof, Gerry Cott
  10. Nice N Neat
  11. When the Night Comes




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.