On August 10, 1970.

On August 10, 1970, “Bizarre” label released “Weasels Ripped My Flesh”, the seventh Mothers of Invention (The) album. It was recorded December 1967 – August 1969 at various locations and was produced by Frank Zappa. This is the second Mothers of Invention (The) album released after the band disbanded in 1969 (first one was Burnt Weeny Sandwich).


  • Frank Zappa– vocals, lead guitar
  • Ray Collins– vocals
  • Lowell George– vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Don Preston– organ, electronic effects
  • Roy Estrada – vocals, bass
  • Art Tripp– drums
  • Jimmy Carl Black– drums
  • Ian Underwood– alto saxophone
  • Motorhead Sherwood– baritone saxophone, snorks
  • Bunk Gardner– tenor saxophone
  • Buzz Gardner– trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Don “Sugarcane” Harris– vocals, electric violin
  • Neon Park – cover art

Track listing:

All tracks by Frank Zappa, except where noted.

  1. Didja Get Any Onya
  2. Directly from My Heart to You – Richard Wayne Penniman
  3. Prelude to the Afternoon of a Sexually Aroused Gas Mask
  4. Toads of the Short Forest
  5. Get a Little
  6. Eric Dolphy Memorial Barbecue
  7. Dwarf Nebula Processional March & Dwarf Nebula
  8. My Guitar Wants to Kill Your Mama
  9. Oh No
  10. The Orange County Lumber Truck
  11. Weasels Ripped My Flesh

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.