Tag Archives: Lochinvar

In March 1972.

In March 1972, “Columbia” label released “Powerglide”, the second New Riders of the Purple Sage album. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Stephen Barncard. The cover artwork was by Alton Kelley and Stanley Mouse.


  • John Dawson– acoustic and electric rhythm guitars, vocals
  • David Nelson– lead guitar, vocals
  • Dave Torbert– bass, vocals, electric rhythm and acoustic guitar, piano, lead vocals
  • Buddy Cage– pedal steel guitar, dobro
  • Spencer Dryden– drums, percussion, broom, whistle, whoopee
  • Nicky Hopkins– piano
  • Jerry Garcia– banjo; piano
  • Billy Kreutzmann– percussion
  • Peoples chorus – Nelson, McDuke, Buddy, Judy, Steve
  • Riderettes – our boys in drag
  • Engineer – John Fiore
  • Second engineer – George Beauregard
  • Mastering – Bob McCloud
  • Inside artwork – Lore Shoberg

Track listing:

  1. Dim Lights, Thick Smoke (And Loud, Loud Music) – Joe Maphis, Max Fidler, Rose Lee Maphis
  2. Rainbow – John Dawson
  3. California Day – Dave Torbert
  4. Sweet Lovin’ One – John Dawson
  5. Lochinvar – John Dawson
  6. I Don’t Need No Doctor – Nick Ashford, Valerie Simpson, Jo Armstead
  7. Contract – Dave Torbert
  8. Runnin’ Back to You – John Dawson
  9. Hello Mary Lou – Gene Pitney, Cayet Mangiaracina
  10. Duncan and Brady – trad., arranged John Koerner
  11. Willie and the Hand Jive – Johnny Otis