In March 1972.

In March 1972, “Columbia” label released “Powerglide”, the second New Riders of the Purple Sage album. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Stephen Barncard. The cover artwork was by Alton Kelley and Stanley Mouse.


  • John Dawson – vocals, acoustic and electric rhythm guitars
  • David Nelson – vocals, lead guitar
  • Buddy Cage– pedal steel guitar, dobro
  • Dave Torbert– lead vocals, bass, vocals, acoustic and electric rhythm guitar, piano
  • Spencer Dryden– drums, percussion, broom, whistle, whoopee
  • Nicky Hopkins– piano
  • Jerry Garcia– banjo, piano
  • Billy Kreutzmann– percussion
  • Nelson, McDuke, Buddy, Judy, Steve – Peoples cgorus
  • Riderettes – our boys in drag
  • John Fiore – engineer
  • George Beauregard – 2nd engineer
  • Bob McCloud – mastering
  • Lore Shoberg – inside artwork

Track listing:

  1. Dim Lights, Thick Smoke (And Loud, Loud Music) – Joe Maphis, Max Fidler, Rose Lee Maphis
  2. Rainbow – John Dawson
  3. California Day – Dave Torbert
  4. Sweet Lovin’ One – John Dawson
  5. Lochinvar – John Dawson
  6. I Don’t Need No Doctor – Nick Ashford, Valerie Simpson, Jo Armstead
  7. Contract – Dave Torbert
  8. Runnin’ Back to You – John Dawson
  9. Hello Mary Lou – Gene Pitney, Cayet Mangiaracina
  10. Duncan and Brady – trad., arranged John Koerner
  11. Willie and the Hand Jive – Johnny Otis

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.