Tag Archives: Lee Dorman

In July 1972.

In July 1972, “Capricorn” label released the debut, self-titled Captain Beyond album. It was recorded 1971 – 1972, at “Sunset Sound Recorders” in Hollywood, and was produced by Rod Evans, Larry “Rhino” Reinhardt, Lee Dorman and Bobby Caldwell. The album was dedicated to the memory of Duane Allman.


  • Rod Evans– lead vocals
  • Larry “Rhino” Reinhardt– guitars
  • Lee Dorman– bass guitar, backing vocals, piano
  • Bobby Caldwell– drums, all percussion instruments (including bells and vibraphone), backing vocals, piano

Track listing:

All tracks by Bobby Caldwell and Rod Evans.

  1. Dancing Madly Backwards (on a Sea of Air)
  2. Armworth
  3. Myopic Void
  4. Mesmerization Eclipse
  5. Raging River of Fear
  6. Thousand Days of Yesterdays (Intro)
  7. Frozen Over
  8. Thousand Days of Yesterdays (Time Since Come and Gone)
  9. I Can’t Feel Nothin’ (Part 1)
  10. As the Moon Speaks (to the Waves of the Sea)
  11. Astral Lady
  12. As the Moon Speaks (Return)
  13. I Can’t Feel Nothin’ (Part 2)

In March 1971.


In March 1971, “Atco” label released the debut, self-titled Black Oak Arkansas album. It was recorded in 1970, at “Paramamount Recording Studios” and “Gold Star Recording Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Lee Dorman and Mike Pinera.


  • Jim “Dandy” Mangrum -lead vocals, washboard
  • Rickie “Ricochet” Reynolds – 12 string rhythm guitar, vocals
  • Pat “Dirty” Daugherty – bass guitar, vocals
  • Harvey “Burley” Jett – lead guitar, banjo, piano, vocals
  • Stanley “Goober” Knight – lead& steel guitar, organ, vocals
  • Wayne “Squeezebox” Evans – drums
  • Sheldon Krechman, Lee Weisel – executive producers.
  • Brian Bruderlin, Stan Ross – engineers.
  • Remixed by Jay Senter and Doc Siegel.
  • Eve Babitz – cover design, photos

Track listing:

All tracks by Jim “Dandy” Mangrum,  Rickie “Ricochet” Reynolds, Pat “Dirty” Daugherty, Harvey “Burley” Jett, Stanley “Goober” Knight  and Wayne “Squeezebox” Evans, except where noted.

  1. Uncle Lijiah
  2. Memories at the Window
  3. The Hills of Arkansas
  4. I Could Love You
  5. Hot and Nasty – Pat “Dirty” Daugherty, Harvey “Burley” Jett, Knight, Rickie “Ricochet” Reynolds, Smith, Stone
  6. Singing the Blues – Melvin Endsley
  7. Lord Have Mercy on My Soul
  8. When Electricity Came to Arkansas

On August 13, 1970.


On August 13, 1970, “Atco” label released “Metamorphosis”, the fourth Iron Butterfly, studio album. It was recorded May – July 1970, and was produced by Richard Podolor. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 403 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. “Metamorphosis” is noted for having one of the earliest uses of the Talk box on a rock album.


  • Doug Ingle– organ, lead vocals
  • Lee Dorman– bass
  • Ron Bushy– drums
  • Mike Pinera– guitar, lead vocals
  • Larry “Rhino” Reinhardt– guitar
  • Richard Podolor– sitar, twelve-string guitar
  • Bill Cooper – twelve-string guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Doug Ingle, Ron Bushy, and Lee Dorman, except where noted.

  1. Free Flight
  2. New Day
  3. Shady Lady – lyrics by Robert Woods Edmonson
  4. Best Years of Our Life
  5. Slower Than Guns – lyrics by Robert Woods Edmonson
  6. Stone Believer
  7. Soldier in Our Town – lyrics by Robert Woods Edmonson
  8. Easy Rider (Let the Wind Pay the Way) – lyrics by Robert Woods Edmonson
  9. Butterfly Bleu

On June 14, 1968.


On June 14, 1968, “Atco” label released “In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida”, the second Iron Butterfly studio album. It was recorded in 1968, at “Gold Star Studios” in Hollywood, and in “Ultra Sonic Studios” in New York, and was produced by Don Casale. “In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida” is certified 4 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”, and was the best selling album of year 1969.


  • Erik Brann- guitars, vocals
  • Doug Ingle- organ, vocals
  • Lee Dorman- bass, backing vocals
  • Ron Bushy- drums, percussion
  • Arranged by Iron Butterfly
  • Recorded & engineered by Jim Hilton
  • Mixed by Bill Cooper

Track listing:

All tracks by Doug Ingle except where noted.

  1. Most Anything You Want
  2. Flowers and Beads
  3. My Mirage
  4. Termination – Erik Brann, Lee Dorman
  5. Are You Happy
  6. In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida

On January 17, 1969.

Iron Butterfly Ball

On January 17, 1969, “Atco” label released “Ball”, the third Iron Butterfly studio album.  It was recorded in 1968, and was produced by Jim Hilton and Gordon Anderson.


  • Erik Brann– guitars, backing and lead vocals
  • Doug Ingle– organs, lead vocals
  • Lee Dorman– bass, backing vocals
  • Ron Bushy– drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. In the Time of Our Lives – Doug Ingle, Ron Bushy
  2. Soul Experience – Doug Ingle, Ron Bushy, Erik Brann, Lee Dorman
  3. Lonely Boy – Doug Ingle
  4. Real Fright – Doug Ingle, Ron Bushy, Erik Brann
  5. In the Crowds – Doug Ingle, Lee Dorman
  6. It Must Be Love – Doug Ingle
  7. Her Favorite Style – Doug Ingle
  8. Filled with Fear – Doug Ingle
  9. Belda-Beast – Erik Brann