Tag Archives: Isle of Wight

On December 22, 2014.

On December 22, 2014, John Robert “Joe” Cocker, died aged 70. He was singer and musician, with unique gritty voice and stage movements. He gained world popularity with his performance of the Beatles song “With a Little Help from My Friends” at  “Woodstock”  and “Isle of Wight” festivals in 1969. Cocker has received several awards, including a 1983 “Grammy Award” for his song “Up Where We Belong”;  2007 a bronze “Sheffield Legends” plaque in his hometown and in 2008 “OBE” at Buckingham Palace for services to music. Magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked him at number 97 on its list of the “100 Greatest Singers”.



On March 19, 1971.


On January 19, 1971, “Columbia” label released “Songs of Love and Hate”, the third Leonard Cohen studio album. It was recorded in August 1970, at “Isle of Wight” and “Trident Studios” in London, and at “Columbia Studio A” in Nashville, and was produced by Bob Johnston.


  • Leonard Cohen – acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Ron Cornelius- acoustic and electric guitars
  • Charlie Daniels- acoustic guitar, bass guitar, fiddle
  • Elkin “Bubba” Fowler- acoustic guitar, banjo, bass guitar
  • Bob Johnston- piano
  • Corlynn Hanney – vocals
  • Susan Mussmano – vocals
  • The Corona Academy, London – children’s voices
  • Michael Sahl – strings
  • Paul Buckmaster- string and horn arrangements, conductor

Track listing:

All tracks by Leonard Cohen.

  1. Avalanche
  2. Last Year’s Man
  3. Dress Rehearsal Rag
  4. Diamonds in the Mine
  5. Love Calls You by Your Name
  6. Famous Blue Raincoat
  7. Sing Another Song, Boys (Live at the Isle of Wight Festival, August 31, 1970)
  8. Joan of Arc