Tag Archives: Funky Broadway

In July 1967.

In July 1967, “Atlantic” label released “The Sound of Wilson Pickett”, the sixth Wilson Pickett album. It was recorded in 1967 at “Fame Studios” in Alabama, and was produced by Rick Hall, Tom Dowd and Jerry Wexler.


  • Wilson Pickett – vocals
  • Tommy Cogbill- bass
  • Chips Moman- guitar
  • Junior Lake – bass
  • Roger Hawkins- drums
  • Spooner Oldham- piano. organ
  • Wayne Jackson- trumpet
  • Gene Miller – trumpet
  • Andrew Love- tenor saxophone
  • Charles Chalmers – tenor saxophone
  • Floyd Newman- baritone saxophone

Track listing:

  1. Soul Dance Number Three – Wilson Pickett, Jerry Wexler
  2. Funky Broadway – Arlester “Dyke” Christian
  3. I Need a Lot of Loving Every Day – Dan Penn, Lindon Oldham
  4. I Found A Love, Part I – Wilson Pickett, Willie Schofield, Robert West
  5. I Found A Love, Part II – Wilson Pickett, Willie Schofield, Robert West
  6. You Can’t Stand Alone – Rudy Clark
  7. Mojo Mamma – Bert Berns, Jerry Wexler
  8. I Found The One – Bobby Womack
  9. Something Within Me – Bobby Womack
  10. I’m Sorry About That – Bobby Womack
  11. Love Is a Beautiful Thing – Felix Cavaliere, Eddie Brigati



On June 1, 1967.

On June 1, 1967, “Smash Records” released “James Brown Plays the Real Thing”, the twentieth James Brown studio album. It was recorded in 1967, and was produced by James Brown.

Track listing:

  1. Jimmy Mack – Holland, Dozier, Holland
  2. What Do You Like – Alfred Ellis
  3. PeeWee’s Groove In “D” – Alfred Ellis
  4. Bernadette – Holland, Dozier, Holland
  5. Mercy, Mercy, Mercy – Joe Zawinul
  6. I Never Loved a Man The Way I Love You – Ronnie Shannon
  7. Funky Broadway – Arlester Christian
  8. D Thing – Ted Wright