Tag Archives: David Buckland

On September 1, 1989.

On September 1, 1989, “Venture” label released “Flux + Mutability”, the second David Sylvian and Holger Czukay album. It was recorded in December 1988, at “Can Studio” in Cologne, and was produced by David Sylvian and Holger Czukay.


  • Holger Czukay– electric guitar, bass guitar, dictaphone, radio, engineer
  • David Sylvian– guitar, keyboard instruments, art director
  • Michael Karoli– electric guitar
  • Michi – voice
  • Markus Stockhausen– flugelhorn
  • Jaki Liebezeit– percussion, African flute
  • René Tinner- technical advice and assistant
  • Yuka Fujii – art director, cover art, photography design
  • David Buckland – front cover photography

Track listing:

  1. Flux (A Big, Bright, Colourful World) – David Sylvian, Holger Czukay
  2. Mutability (A New Beginning Is in the Offing) – David Sylvian, Holger Czukay

On March 8, 1994.


On March 9, 1994, “Interscope” label released “The Downward Spiral”, the second Nine Inch Nails studio album. It  was recorded 1992 – 1993, at “Le Pig” in Beverly Hills;” Record Plant Studios” and “A&M Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Trent Reznor and Mark Flood Ellis. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 201 on its list of the “500 greatest albums of all time”. The album was placed 10th on magazine “Spin” list of “125 Best Albums of the Past 25 Years” In 2001, “Q” magazine named  “The Downward Spiral” as one of the “50 Heaviest Albums of All Time” and in 2010, the album was ranked number 102 on their “250 Best Albums of Q’s Lifetime”.


  • Trent Reznor– vocals, drums, arranger
  • Mark “Flood” Ellis– hi-hat, ARP 2600 synthesizer
  • Chris Vrenna– drums, programming, sampling
  • Adrian Belew– texture generating guitar, ring mod guitar
  • Danny Lohner– guitar
  • Andy Kubiszewski– drums
  • Stephen Perkins– drum loops
  • Charlie Clouser– programming
  • Russell Mills– paintings
  • David Buckland – photography
  • Gary Talpas– package

Track listing:

All tracks by Trent Reznor.

  1. Self Destruct
  2. Piggy
  3. Heresy
  4. March of the Pigs
  5. Closer
  6. Ruiner
  7. The Becoming
  8. I Do Not Want This
  9. Big Man With a Gun
  10. A Warm Place
  11. Eraser
  12. Reptile
  13. The Downward Spiral
  14. Hurt