Tag Archives: Candido

In April 1957.

In April 1957, “Blue Note” label released the self-titled, second Kenny Burrell studio album. It was recorded March – May 1956, at “Audio-Video Studios” in New York City and “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Kenny Burrell – guitar
  • Tommy Flanagan – piano 
  • Frank Foster – tenor saxophone
  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Oscar Pettiford – bass
  • Kenny Clarke – drums
  • Shadow Wilson – drums
  • Candido – conga 
  • Andy Warhol – cover art

Track listing:

All tracks by Kenny Burrell except where noted.

  1. Get Happy – Harold Arlen, Ted Koehler
  2. But Not for Me – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  3. Moten Swing – Bennie Moten
  4. Cheetah
  5. Now See How You Are – Woody Harris, Oscar Pettiford
  6. Phinupi
  7. How About You? – Burton Lane, Ralph Freed

In December 1969.

In December 1969, “Prestige” label released “The Boss Is Back!”, the 25th Gene Ammons album. It was recorded in November 1969, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Bob Porter.


  • Gene Ammons – tenor saxophone
  • Prince James, Houston Person – tenor saxophone
  • Junior Mance – piano 
  • Sonny Phillips organ 
  • Buster Williams – bass 
  • Bob Bushnell – electric bass 
  • Frankie Jones, Bernard Purdie – drums
  • Candido – congas 

Track listing:

All tarcks by Gene Ammons except where noted.

  1. The Jungle Boss – Gene Ammons, Junior Mance
  2. I Wonder – Cecil Gant, Raymond Leveen
  3. Feeling Good – Leslie Bricusse, Anthony Newley
  4. Tastin’ the Jug
  5. Here’s That Rainy Day – Johnny Burke, Jimmy Van Heusen
  6. Madame Queen

In August 1962.

In August 1962, “RCA Victor” label released “What’s New?” the 20th Sonny Rollins album. It was recorded April – May 1962, in New York City, and was produced by George Avakian and John Snyder.


  • Sonny Rollins– tenor saxophone
  • Jim Hall– guitar
  • Bob Cranshaw– bass
  • Ben Riley– drums
  • Denis Charles – percussion
  • Frank Charles – percussion
  • Willie Rodriguez – percussion
  • Candido– percussion
  • Jay Newland – engineer
  • Ray Hall – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Sonny Rollins except where noted.

  1. If Ever I Would Leave You – Alan Jay Lerner, Frederick Loewe
  2. Jungoso
  3. Bluesongo
  4. The Night Has a Thousand Eyes – Buddy Bernier, Jerry Brainin
  5. Brown Skin Girl – Norman Span

In January 1973.

In January 1973, “Polydor” label released “We the People”, the third Ellen McIlwaine album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Record Plant Studios” and “Carnegie Hall” in New York City, and was produced by Peter K. Seigel.


  • Ellen McIlwaine- vocals, guitar, piano
  • Don Payne, Don Moore – bass
  • Jimmy Madison, Jerry Mercer- drums
  • Colin Tilton – saxophone
  • Candido- conga
  • West 44th Street Noise Choir – background vocals
  • The Persuasions- background vocals on

Track listing:

All tracks by Ellen McIlwaine except where noted.

  1. Ain’t No Two Ways About It (It’s Love)
  2. All to You
  3. Sliding
  4. Never Tell Your Mother She’s Out of Tune – Jack Bruce, Pete Brown
  5. Farther Along – traditional
  6. I Don’t Want to Play
  7. Underground River
  8. Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven (But Nobody Wants To Die) – Al Fields, Tom Delaney, Timmie Rogers
  9. Jimmy Jean
  10. We the People