On February 9, 1970.


On February 9, 1970, “Bizarre” label released “Burnt Weeny Sandwich”, the ninth, Mothers of Invention album. It was recorded in August 1967 and July 1969, and was produced by Frank Zappa.


  • Frank Zappa– vocals, organ, guitar, arranger
  • Lowell George– guitar, vocals
  • Jim Sherwood– guitar, vocals, wind
  • Ian Underwood– guitar, piano, keyboards, wind
  • John Balkin – bass, string bass
  • Don Preston– bass, piano, keyboards
  • Billy Mundi– drums
  • Art Tripp– drums, percussion
  • Jimmy Carl Black– percussion, drums
  • Roy Estrada– bass, backing vocals, Pachuco rap
  • Janet Ferguson – backing vocals
  • Bunk Gardner– horn, wind
  • Buzz Gardner- trumpet
  • Don “Sugarcane” Harris– violin
  • Cal Schenkel – cover art
  • John Williams – design

Track listing:

All tracks by Frank Zappa except where noted.

  1. WPLJ (The Four Deuces)
  2. Igor’s Boogie, Phase One
  3. Overture to a Holiday in Berlin
  4. Theme from Burnt Weeny Sandwich
  5. Igor’s Boogie, Phase Two
  6. Holiday in Berlin, Full Blown
  7. Aybe Sea
  8. The Little House I Used to Live in

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.