On October 8, 1972.


On October 8, 1972, “A&M” label released “Music is my Life” the seventh Billy Preston studio album.  It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Billy Preston.


  • Billy Preston – vocals, keyboards, bass guitar
  • George Johnson – guitars
  • Hubert Heard – keyboards
  • Louis Johnson – bass guitar
  • Manuel Kellough – drums
  • Tom Scott: horn
  • Jim Horn: horn
  • George Bohanon: horn
  • Buck Monari: horn
  • Paul Hubison: horn
  • Clarence McDonald, David T. Walker- arrangements
  • Roland Young – art direction
  • Jim McCarty – photography

Track listing:

All songs by Billy Preston, except where noted.

  1. We’re Gonna Make It
  2. One Time or Another – Billy Preston, Robert Sam
  3. Blackbird – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  4. I Wonder Why – Billy Preston, George Johnson
  5. Will It Go Round in Circles – Billy Preston, Bruce Fisher
  6. Ain’t That Nothin – Billy Preston, Joe Greene, Robert Sam
  7. God Loves You – Billy Preston, John Schuler
  8. Make the Devil Mad – Turn on to Jesus
  9. Nigger Charlie – Billy Preston, Joe Greene
  10. Heart Full of Sorrow – Billy Preston, George Johnson
  11. Music Is My Life

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.