Rush: Fly by Night

On February 15, 1975, “Mercury” label released “Fly by Night”, the second Rush studio album. It was recorded in December 1974, at “Toronto Sound” in Toronto, Canada, and was produced by Terry Brown, Alex Lifeson, Geddy Lee and Neil Peart.


  • Alex Lifeson – 6 and 12-string acoustic guitars, electric guitars, arrangements, cover concept
  • Geddy Lee – vocals, bass guitars, classical guitar, arrangements, cover comcept
  • Neil Peart – drums, percussion, arrangements, cover concept
  • Terry Brown – engineer, arrangement
  • John Woloschuk – assistant engineer
  • Gilbert Kong – mastering
  • Eraldo Carugati – cover painting
  • AGI Chicago – art direction
  • Jim Ladwig – art direction
  • Joe Kotleba – design
  • Richard Fegley – photography
  • Howard “Herns” Ungerleider – By-Tor characters inspiration
  • Moon Records – executive producer

Track listing:

All lyrics by Neil Peart except where noted, all music as noted.

  1. Anthem – Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson
  2. Best I Can – lyrics and music by Geddy Lee
  3. Beneath, Between and Behind – Alex Lifeson
  4. By-Tor and the Snow Dog – Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson
  5. At the Tobes of Hades
  6. Across the Styx
  7. Of the Battle

i. Challenge and Defiance

ii.7/4 War Furor


iv.Hymn of the Triumph

  • Epilogue
  • Fly by Night – Geddy Lee
  • Making Memories – Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson
  • Rivendell – Geddy Lee
  • In the End – lyrics and music by Geddy Lee

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.