Thunderclap Newman: Hollywood Dream

In September 1970, “Track” label released “Hollywood Dream”, the only Thunderclap Newman studio album. It was recorded in 1969, and was produced by Pete Townshend.


  • John “Speedy” Keen – lead vocals, acoustic guitar, drums, percussion, conga, glockenspiel, gong, maracas
  • Andy Newman – vocals, piano, organ, soprano saxophone, bass saxophone, oboe, tin whistle, glockenspiel, Cor Anglais, Bengali flutes, Japanese battle cymbal, hand bell, Indian finger cymbals, sleigh bells, Chinese temple block
  • Jimmy McCulloch – acoustic and electric guitar, maracas, wood block, backing vocals
  • Pete Townshend (credited as Bijou Drains) – bass
  • Chris Morphet – harmonica 
  • Ian Green – string arrangement
  • Graham Hughes – cover art
  • Chris Morphet – photography
  • Chris Stamp – special thanks

Track listing:

All tracks by Speedy Keen except where noted.

  1. Hollywood #1
  2. The Reason
  3. Open the Door, Homer – Bob Dylan
  4. Look Around
  5. Accidents
  6. Wild Country
  7. When I Think
  8. The Old Cornmill
  9. I Don’t Know
  10. Hollywood Dream – Jack McCulloch, Jimmy McCulloch
  11. Hollywood #2
  12. Something in the Air

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.