On July 27, 1979.

On July 27, 1979, “Riva Records” label released “John Cougar”, the third John Mellencamp studio album. It was recorded in 1978 at “AIR Studios” in London, and in 1979, at “Criteria Studios” in Miami, and was produced by Ron Albert, Howard Albert and John Punter.


  • John Mellencamp – vocal, guitar
  • Larry Crane – guitars, backing vocals
  • Mike “Chief” Wanchic – guitars, backing vocals
  • Brian Bec Var – piano, keyboards
  • Robert “Ferd” Frank – bass
  • Tom Knowles – drums
  • Don Gehman – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by John Mellencamp, except where noted.

  1. A Little Night Dancin’
  2. Small Paradise
  3. Miami
  4. Great Mid-West
  5. Do You Think That’s Fair
  6. I Need a Lover
  7. Welcome to Chinatown
  8. Sugar Marie
  9. Pray for Me – John Mellencamp, Brian Bec Var
  10. Taxi Dancer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.