Jimmy Smith: Home Cookin’

In April 1961, “Blue Note” label released “Home Cookin’”, the 17th Jimmy Smith album. It was recorded July 1958 – June 1959, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Jimmy Smith – organ
  • Percy France – tenor saxophone
  • Kenny Burrell – guitar
  • Donald Bailey – drums
  • Rudy Van Gelder – engineer
  • Reid Miles – design
  • Francis Wolff – photography
  • Ira Gitler – liner notes

Track tracks by Jimmy Smith except where noted.

  1. See See Rider – Ma Rainey
  2. Sugar Hill – Kenny Burrell
  3. I Got a Woman – Ray Charles, Renald Richard
  4. Messin’ Around
  5. Gracie
  6. Come on Baby – Kenny Burrell
  7. Motorin’ Along – Jimmy McGriff

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.