On September 30, 1997.

On September 30, 1997, “Windham Hill” label released “Hunger”, the fifteenth Janis Ian studio album. It was recorded in 1997, at “Bearsville Studios” in Bearsville, New York, “The Congress House” in Austin, Texas, “Music Mill”, “Ocean Way”, “Quad & Woodland Studios” in Nashville, Tennessee, and was produced by Jeff Balding, Janis Ian, and Ani DiFranco.


  • Janis Ian – vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Kevin Breit – electric and National Steel guitars, bouzouki
  • Andrew Gilchrist – electric guitar
  • Dan Huff- electric guitar
  • Randy Leago – accordion
  • Glenn Worf – upright bass
  • David Piltch- upright bass
  • Ani DiFranco- bass, sampling, background vocals
  • Andy Stochansky – drums, percussion
  • Steve Brewster – drums
  • Terry McMillian – percussion
  • Cyro Baptista- percussion
  • Ron Huff – arrangements
  • Jeff Balding – mixing
  • Andrew Gilehrist – mixing
  • Sonny Mediana – art direction, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Janis Ian, except where noted.

  1. Black & White
  2. On the Dark Side of Town
  3. Might As Well Be Monday
  4. Getting Over You – Janis Ian, Gary Burr
  5. Searching for America
  6. Hunger
  7. Welcome to Acousticville
  8. Honor Them All
  9. Empty
  10. House Without a Heart
  11. Shadow
  12. Getting Over You (with strings) – Janis Ian, Gary Burr

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.