In July 1964.

In July 1964, “Atlantic” label released “Coltrane’s Sound”, an album credited to John Coltrane. It was recorded in October 1960, at “Atlantic Studios” in New York City, during the sessions for “My Favorite Things” album, and was produced by Nesuhi Ertegun.


  • John Coltrane— tenor and soprano saxophone
  • McCoy Tyner— piano
  • Steve Davis— bass
  • Elvin Jones— drums
  • Tom Dowd— engineering
  • Marvin Israel— photography
  • Ralph J. Gleason— liner notes

Track listing:

  1. The Night Has a Thousand Eyes – Buddy Bernier, Jerry Branin
  2. Central Park West – John Coltrane
  3. Liberia – John Coltrane
  4. Body and Soul – Edward Heyman, Robert Sour, Frank Eyton, Johnny Green
  5. Equinox – John Coltrane
  6. Satellite – John Coltrane

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.