In July 1964.

In July 1964, “Impulse” label released “The Body & the Soul”, the ninth Freddie Hubbard album. It was recorded March – May 1963, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood, NJ, “Capitol Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • Freddie Hubbard– trumpet
  • Wayne Shorter- tenor saxophone, arranger, conductor
  • Curtis Fuller– trombone
  • Eric Dolphy- alto saxophone, flute
  • Cedar Walton– piano
  • Reggie Workman– bass
  • Louis Hayes– drums
  • Clark Terry – trumpet
  • Ernie Royal – trumpet
  • Ed Armour – trumpet
  • Richard Williams- trumpet
  • Al DeRisi – trumpet
  • Seldon Powell – tenor saxophone
  • Jerome Richardson- tenor saxophone
  • Charles Davis- baritone saxophone
  • Jerome Richardson – baritone saxophone
  • Melba Liston– trombone
  • Robert Powell – tuba
  • Bob Northern- French horn
  • Julius Watkins- French horns
  • Harry Cykman, Morris Stonzek, Arnold Eidus, Sol Shapiro, Charles McCracken, Harry Katzman, Harry Lookofsky, Gene Orloff, Julius Held, Raoul Poliakin – strings

Track listing:

All tracks by Freddie Hubbard except where noted.

  1. Body and Soul – Heyman, Sour, Eyton, Green
  2. Carnival (Manhã de Carnaval) – Luis Bonfá, Creatore, Peretti, Weiss
  3. Chocolate Shake – Duke Ellington, Ben Webster
  4. Dedicated to You – Cahn, Chaplin, Zaret
  5. Clarence’s Place
  6. Aries
  7. Skylark – Carmichael, Mercer
  8. I Got It Bad (And That Ain’t Good) – Duke Ellington, Ben Webster
  9. Thermo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.