On June 9, 1999.

On June 9, 1999, “ECM” label released “Open Land”, the 26th John Abercrombie album. It was recorded in September 1998, at “Avatar Studios” in New York City, and was produced Manfred Eicher.


  • John Abercrombie – guitar
  • Kenny Wheeler– trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Joe Lovano– tenor saxophone
  • Mark Feldman– violin
  • Dan Wall– Hammond organ
  • Adam Nussbaum– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by John Abercrombie except where noted.

  1. Just in Tune
  2. Pen Land
  3. Spring Song
  4. Gimme Five
  5. Speak Easy
  6. Little Booker
  7. Free Piece Suit(e) – John Abercrombie, Adam Nussbaum, Dan Wall, Joe Lovano, Kenny Wheeler, Mark Feldman
  8. Remember When
  9. That’s for Sure


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.