On June 9, 1997.

On June 9, 1977, “Atlantic” label released “Monkey Island”, the seventh J. Geils Band album. It was recorded in 1977, and was produced by Peter Wolf, J. Geils, Magic Dick, Seth Justan, Danny Klein and Stephen Bladd.


  • Peter Wolf- lead vocals
  • Geils- guitar
  • Magic Dick- harmonica
  • Seth Justman- keyboards
  • Danny Klein- bass
  • Stephen Bladd – drums
  • Michelle Cobbs – background vocals
  • Evette Benton – background vocals
  • Cissy Houston- background vocals
  • Barbara Ingram- background vocals
  • Theresa Reed – background vocals
  • Diane Sumler – background vocals
  • Harriet Tharpe – background vocals
  • Luther Vandross- background vocals
  • Michael Brecker- tenor saxophone
  • Randy Brecker– trumpet
  • Ronnie Cuber– saxophone
  • Lew Del Gatto – saxophone
  • Arif Mardin- strings conductor
  • Alan Rubin– trumpet
  • Lew Soloff– trumpet
  • Frank Vicari– saxophone
  • David Thoener – engineer
  • Jay Krugman, Rod O’Brien, Corky Stasiak – assistant engineer
  • David Thoener – mixing
  • George Marino – remastering
  • Peter Corriston – design
  • Alen MacWeeney – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Peter Wolf and Seth Justman except where noted.

  1. Surrender
  2. You’re the Only One
  3. I Do – Melvin Mason, Johnny Paden, Frank Paden, Alfred Smith, Willie Stephenson
  4. Somebody
  5. I’m Falling
  6. Monkey Island
  7. I’m Not Rough
  8. So Good
  9. Wreckage


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.