In January 1988.

In January 1988, “Columbia / Legacy” label released “Never Die Young”, the twelfth James Taylor album. It was recorded in 1987, and was produced by Don Grolnick.


  • James Taylor – vocals, guitar
  • Bob Mann– guitar
  • Jeff Mironov – guitar
  • Dan Dugmore– banjo, pedal steel guitar
  • Don Grolnick– piano
  • Bill Payne– keyboards
  • Greg “Fingers” Taylor– harmonica
  • Jay Leonhart– bass
  • Leland Sklar– bass
  • Carlos Vega– drums, percussion
  • Michael Brecker– tenor saxophone
  • Rosemary Butler– vocals
  • David Lasley– vocals
  • Arnold McCuller– vocals
  • Mark O’Connor– violin
  • Lani Groves– backing vocals
  • Robby Kilgore, Clifford Carter – synthesizer programming
  • James Farber – recording, mixing
  • Don Rodenbach – engineer, assistant
  • Rhonda Schoen – digital editing
  • Greg Calbi– mastering
  • Edd Kolakowski – guitar and piano technician, production assistant
  • Marc Balet – art direction
  • Jim Brandenburg– wolf photos
  • Rudy Molacek – James Taylor photo

Track listing:

All tracks by James Taylor, except where noted.

  1. Never Die Young
  2. T-Bone – Bill Payne, James Taylor
  3. Baby Boom Baby – James Taylor, Zachary Wiesner
  4. Runaway Boy
  5. Valentine’s Day
  6. Sun on the Moon
  7. Sweet Potato Pie
  8. Home by Another Way – Timothy Mayer, James Taylor
  9. Letter in the Mail
  10. First of May

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.