Colosseum: Valentyne Suite

In November 1969, “Vertigo” label released “Valentyne Suite”, the second Colosseum album. It was recorded in 1969, and was produced by Tony Reeves and Gerry Bron.


  • Dave Greenslade- Hammond organ, vibraphone, piano, backing vocal
  • James Litherland- guitars, lead vocals
  • Tony Reeves- bass guitar
  • Jon Hiseman- drums, machine
  • Dick Heckstall-Smith- saxophones, flute
  • Neil Ardley- conductor, string arrangements

Track listing:

  1. The Kettle – Dick Heckstall-Smith, Jon Hiseman
  2. Elegy – James Litherland
  3. Butty’s Blues – James Litherland
  4. The Machine Demands a Sacrifice – James Litherland, Dick Heckstall-Smith, Pete Brown, Jon Hiseman
  5. Valentyne Suite Theme One: January’s Search – Dave Greenslade
  6. Valentyne Suite Theme Two: February’s Valentyne – Dave Greenslade
  7. Valentyne Suite Theme Three: The Grass is Always Greener – Dick Heckstall-Smith, Jon Hiseman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.