On June 22, 2004.

On June 22, 2004, “Vapors Records” label released “Not So Much to Be Loved as to Love”, the eleventh Jonathan Richman solo album. It was recorded in 2004, at “Mobius Studio” in San Francisco, and was produced by Jonathan Richman.


  • Jonathan Richman – vocals, guitar
  • Greg Keranen, Miles Montalbano – bass
  • Tommy Larkins – drums
  • Ralph Carney- brass, woodwind, percussion
  • Alison Faith-Levy, Chuck Prophet, Dave Sorrenson, Jenny Rae Richman, Liz Zoria, Nicole Montalbano, Roger Montalbano, Stephanie Finch, Susan Hertzfeld – backing vocals
  • Oliver Dicicco – engineer
  • Miles Montalbano – layout, design
  • Marty Crosley – cover photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Jonathan Richman.

  1. Not So Much to Be Loved as to Love” Version 1
  2. Sunday Afternoon
  3. Vincent Van Gogh
  4. Cosi Veloce
  5. He Gave Us the Wine to Taste
  6. Salvador Dali
  7. My Baby Love Love Loves Me
  8. In che mondo viviamo
  9. Behold the Lilies of the Field
  10. Les etoiles
  11. The World Is Showing Its Hand
  12. Abu Jamal
  13. On a du soleil
  14. The Sea Was Calling Me Home
  15. Not So Much to Be Loved as to Love” Version 2


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.