In May 1973.

In May 1973, “Columbia” label released “Head to the Sky”, the fourth Earth, Wind & Fire studio album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Clover Recorders” in Hollywood, and was produced by Joseph Wissert. The album was certified Platinum in US by the “RIIA”.


  • Verdine White– vocals, bass, percussion
  • Philip Bailey– vocals, congas, percussion
  • Maurice White– vocals, drums, kalimba, leader
  • Jessica Cleaves – vocals
  • Johnny Graham – guitar, percussion
  • Al McKay – guitar, sitar, percussion
  • Larry Dunn– clarinet, piano, organ
  • Ralph Johnson– drums, percussion
  • Andrew Woolfolk– soprano saxophone, flute
  • Oscar Braschear – trumpet
  • Arranged by Earth, Wind and Fire
  • Robert Appère – engineer, mixing
  • Lee Lawrence – cover design, photography

Track listing:

  1. Evil – Phillip Bailey, Maurice White
  2. Keep Your Head to the Sky – Maurice White
  3. Build Your Nest – Maurice White, Verdine White
  4. The World’s a Masquerade – Skip Scarborough
  5. Clover – Larry Dunn, Maurice White
  6. Zanzibar – Edu Lobo



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.