On October 27, 1986.


On October 27, 1986, “Virgin” label released “Skylarking”, the ninth XTC studio album. It was recorded in 1986, at “Utopia Sound Studios” in Woodstock, NY; “The Sound Hole Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Todd Rundgren.


  • Andy Partridge– vocals, guitar
  • Colin Moulding– vocals, bass, and bonfire
  • Dave Gregory– vocals, guitar, piano, synthesizer, Chamberlin, string arrangement, the odd tiple
  • Prairie Prince– “the part of the time bomb” (i.e., drums)
  • Beech Avenue Boys (i.e., XTC) – backing vocals
  • Todd Rundgren– orchestral arrangements, computer programming, melodica,  keyboards, backing vocals, engineer
  • Mingo Lewis – percussion
  • Charlie McCarthy – alto and tenor saxophone, flute
  • Bob Ferreira – tenor saxophone, piccolo, bass clarinet
  • Dave Bendigkeit – trumpet
  • Dean Hubbard – trombone
  • John Tenney – violin
  • Emily Van Valkenburgh – violin
  • Rebecca Sebring – viola
  • Teressa Adams – cello
  • Jasmine Veillette – vocals
  • Kim Foscatoand, George Cowan – additional engineering
  • Greg Fulginiti – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Andy Partridge, except where noted.

  1. Summer’s Cauldron
  2. Grass – Colin Moulding
  3. The Meeting Place – Colin Moulding
  4. That’s Really Super, Supergirl
  5. Ballet for a Rainy Day
  6. 1000 Umbrellas
  7. Season Cycle
  8. Earn Enough for Us
  9. Big Day
  10. Another Satellite
  11. Mermaid Smiled
  12. The Man Who Sailed Around His Soul
  13. Dying – Colin Moulding
  14. Sacrificial Bonfire – Colin Moulding

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.