On September 19, 1988.

8025458P01 28

On September 19, 1988, “Warner Music” label released “Watermark”, the second  Enya studio album. It was recorded June 1987 – April 1988, at “Aigle Studios” in Dublin, and “Orinoco Studios” in London, and was produced by Nicky Ryan. The album was certified Platinum in Argentina by “CAPIF”; 6 x Platinum in Australia by ARIA; Platinum in Belgium by “BEA”; in Brazil by “ABPD”; 3 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in Germany by “BVMI”; 2 x Platinum in Japan by “RIAJ”; Platinum in Netherlands by “NVPI”; Platinum in New Zealand by “RMNZ”; 5 x Platinum in Spain by “PROMUSICAE”; Platinum in Switzerland by “IFPI Switzerland”; 4 x Platinum in UK by the “BPI”, and 4 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • Enya – vocals, keyboards, arrangements
  • Neil Buckley – clarinet
  • Chris Hughes – African hand drum, rototoms
  • Davy Spillane – low whistle, Uillean pipes
  • Nicky Ryan– hand percussion, arrangements
  • Ross Cullum– engineer, mixing
  • Jim “Jimbo” Barton – mixing
  • Pete Schwair – mixing
  • Laurence Dunmore– design
  • David Hiscook – cover photography
  • Russel Yamy – additional photography
  • Rob Dickins– executive producer

Track listing:

All lyrics by Roma Ryan, all music by Enya.

  1. Watermark
  2. Cursum Perficio
  3. On Your Shore
  4. Storms in Africa
  5. Exile
  6. Miss Clare Remembers
  7. Orinoco Flow
  8. Evening Falls
  9. River
  10. The Longships
  11. Na Laetha Geal M’óige


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.