On July 16, 1971.


On July 16, 1971, “Vertigo” label released “Acquiring the Taste”, the second Gentle Giant studio album. It was recorded January–April 1971, at “Advision Studios” and “A.I.R. Studios” in London, and was produced by Tony Visconti.


  • Gary Green – vocal, 6-string electric guitar, electric guitars, 12 string electric guitar, 12 string electric wah-wah guitar,  mandolin , bass , donkey’s jawbone , cat calls
  • Kerry Minnear – lead and backing vocals, Minimoog , piano , Hammond organ , Mellotron, harpsichord, electric piano, celeste , clavichord , xylophone,  vibraphone, tympani, cello, maracas, tambourine
  • Derek Shulman – lead vocal, alto and tenor saxophone, clavichord, cowbell
  • Phil Shulman – clarinet, trumpet, alto and tenor saxophone, piano, claves, maracas
  • Ray Shulman – vocal, bass, violin, violins, viola, electric violin, Spanish guitar, 12 string guitars , tambourine, skulls, organ bass pedals
  • Martin Smith – drums, tambourine, gong, side drum
  • Paul Cosh – trumpet, organ

Track listing:

All tracks by Kerry Minnear, Derek Shulman, Phil Shulman, and Ray Shulman.

  1. Pantagruel’s Nativity
  2. Edge of Twilight
  3. The House, the Street, the Room
  4. Acquiring the Taste
  5. Wreck
  6. The moon is Down
  7. Black Cat
  8. Plain Truth

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.