On July 15, 1973.

We Are an American Band

On July 15, 1973, “Capitol” label released “We’re An American Band”, the seventh Grand Funk Railroad studio album. It was recorded June 1973, at “Criteria Studios” in Miami, Florida, and was produced by Todd Rundgren. “National Association of Recording Merchandisers” (NARM) ranked the album at number 200 on its list of the “Definitive 200 Albums of All Time”.


  • Mark Farner– vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, electric piano, congas
  • Craig Frost– organ, clavinet, electric piano, Moog synthesizer
  • Mel Schacher– bass
  • Don Brewer– vocals, drums, percussion
  • Todd Rundgren– engineer
  • Seth Snyder – engineer assistant
  • Lynn Goldsmith, Andrew Cavaliere – art concept, design
  • John Hoernle – art direction
  • Lynn Goldsmith – photography

Track listing:

  1. We’re an American Band – Don Brewer
  2. Stop Lookin Back – Don Brewer, Mark Farner
  3. Creepin’ – Mark Farner
  4. Black Licorice – Don Brewer, Mark Farner
  5. The Railroad – Mark Farner
  6. Ain’t Got Nobody – Don Brewer, Mark Farner
  7. Walk Like a Man – Don Brewer, Mark Farner
  8. Loneliest Rider – Mark Farner
  9. Hooray – Don Brewer, Mark Farner
  10. The End – Don Brewer, Mark Farner
  11. Stop Looking Back (Acoustic Mix) – Don Brewer, Mark Farner

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.