On June 1, 1987.


On June 1, 1987, “Columbia” label released “Raintown”, the debut Deacon Blue album. It was recorded December 1986 – February 1987, at “Air Studios” in London, and was produced by Jon Kelly.


  • Ricky Ross – lead vocals
  • Lorraine McIntosh – harmony and backing vocals
  • Graeme Kelling – low voice, guitar
  • James Prime – keyboards, backing vocals
  • Ewen Vernal – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Dougie Vipond – drums, percussion
  • Chris Rea – slide guitar
  • J. Cole- pedal steel guitar
  • Jimmy Helms, George Chandler, Jimmy Chambers – backing vocals
  • Oscar Marzaroli – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Ricky Ross, except where noted:

  1. Born in a Storm
  2. Raintown
  3. Ragman
  4. He Looks Like Spencer Tracy Now
  5. Loaded – James Prime, Ricky Ross, Graeme Kelling
  6. When Will You (Make My Telephone Ring)
  7. Chocolate Girl
  8. Dignity
  9. The Very Thing
  10. Love’s Great Fears – Ricky Ross, James Prime
  11. Town to Be Blamed – Ricky Ross, James Prime

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.