On May 19, 1972.


On May 19, 1972, “DJM” label released “Honky Château”, the fifth Elton John studio album. It was recorded in January 1972, at “Château d’Hérouville” in Hérouville, France, and was produced by Gus Dudgeon. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Honky Château” at number 357 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. In 1995, the album was certified Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • Elton John– vocals, piano , organ
  • Davey Johnstone– guitars, banjo, steel guitar, mandolin, backing vocals
  • Dee Murray– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Nigel Olsson– drums, congas, tambourine, backing vocals
  • Jason Barnhart – trumpet
  • Jacques Bolognesi – trombone
  • Jean-Louis Chautemps, Alain Hatot – saxophones
  • Jean-Luc Ponty– electric violin
  • Legs” Larry Smith– tap dance, mastering
  • David Hentschel– ARP synthesizer
  • Ray Cooper– congas
  • Gus Dudgeon– rhino whistle and backing vocals
  • Madeline Bell, Liza Strike, Larry Steel,Tony Hazzard – backing vocals
  • Gus Dudgeon – brass arrangements
  • Ken Scott – enginee
  • Tony Cousins – remaastering
  • Gus Skinas – editing
  • Ed Caraeff – cover photographyr

Track listing:

All tracks by Elton John and Bernie Taupin.

  1. Honky Cat
  2. Mellow
  3. I Think I’m Going to Kill Myself
  4. Susie (Dramas)
  5. Rocket Man (I Think It’s Going to Be a Long, Long Time)
  6. Salvation
  7. Slave
  8. Amy
  9. Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters
  10. Hercules


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.