On May 17, 1976.

Rainbow Rising

On May 17, 1976, “Oyster/Polydor” label released “Rising”, the second Rainbow studio album. It was recorded in February 1976, at “Musicland Studios” in Munich, and was produced by Martin Birch. “Kerrang” magazine voted “Rising” the greatest heavy metal album of all time.


  • Ronnie James Dio– vocals
  • Ritchie Blackmore– guitar
  • Tony Carey– keyboards, orchestron
  • Jimmy Bain– bass
  • Cozy Powell– drums
  • Munich Philharmonic Orchestra– strings, horn
  • Fritz Sonnleitner – concert master
  • Rainer Pietsch – conductor
  • Martin Birch – mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by Ritchie Blackmore and Ronnie James Dio.

  1. Tarot Woman
  2. Run With the Wolf
  3. Starstruck
  4. Do You Close Your Eyes
  5. Stargazer
  6. A Light in the Black

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.