On March 30, 1998.


On March 30, 1998, “Island” label released “This Is Hardcore”,the sixth Pulp album. It was recorded in 1997, at “CTS Studios”, and “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Chris Thomas.  In 2013, magazine “NME” ranked “This Is Hardcore” at number 166 in its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Jarvis Cocker – vocals, guitar, keyboards, arranger
  • Russell Senior – guitar, violin, arranger
  • Mark Webber – guitar, keyboards, arranger
  • Steve Mackey – bass, arranger
  • Nick Banks – drums, percussion
  • Anne Dudley – piano, string arrangements
  • Chris Thomas – piano
  • Neneh Cherry – vocals
  • Mandy Bell, Carol Kenyon, Jackie Rawe – backing vocals
  • Nicholas Dodd– orchestration
  • Magnus Fiennes, Mark Hayley, Matthew Vaughan, Olle Romo – programming
  • Pete Lewis – engineer
  • John Currin- artwork
  • Peter Saville – art direction, artwork
  • Howard Wakefield, Paul Hetherington – artwork, design, Smart blur ‘painterly effect
  • Horst Diekgerdes – photography

Track listing:

All lyrics by Jarvis Cocker, all music by Nick Banks, Candida Doyle, Steve Mackey and Mark Webber, except where noted.

  1. The Fear
  2. Dishes
  3. Party Hard
  4. Help the Aged
  5. This Is Hardcore – Nick Banks, Jarvis Cocker, Candida Doyle, Mark Webber, Peter Thomas, Steve Mackey
  6. TV Movie
  7. A Little Soul
  8. I’m a Man
  9. Seductive Barry
  10. Sylvia

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.