On February 20, 1995.


On February 20, 1995, “4th & B’way Records” label released “Maxinquaye”, the debut Tricky album. It was recorded at Tricky’s home studio and was produced by Tricky and co-produced by Mark Saunders. In 2013 “NME” magazine ranked “Maxinquaye” at number 202 at its list of “Best Albums of All Time”.


  • Pete Briquette– bass
  • FTV – guitar, drums
  • Alison Goldfrapp– vocals
  • Martina Topley-Bird– vocals
  • Ragga (Ragnhildur Gísladóttir) – vocals
  • Mark Saunders– keyboards, guitar
  • James Stevenson– guitar
  • Mark Stewart– vocals
  • Tricky – vocals
  • Tony Wrafter – flute
  • Ali Staton – mixing
  • David Alvarez – art direction, design
  • Cally Callomon – art direction, design
  • Richard Baker – artwork
  • Rob Crane – artwork
  • Andy Earl, Paul Rider, Valerie Philips – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Tricky, except where noted.

  1. Overcome
  2. Ponderosa – Tricky, Howie B.
  3. Black Steel – Carlton Ridenhour, Eric Sadler, Hank Shocklee
  4. Hell Is Round the Corner
  5. Pumpkin
  6. Aftermath
  7. Abbaon Fat Tracks
  8. Brand New You’re Retro
  9. Suffocated Love
  10. You Don’t
  11. Struggin
  12. Feed Me



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.