On February 11, 1977.


On February 11, 1977, “Chrysalis” label released “Songs from the Wood”, the tenth Jethro Tull studio album. It was recorded in 1976 at “Morgan Studios” in London and “Maison Rouge Mobile”, and was produced by Ian Anderson. “Songs from the Wood” was included in the list “The 100 Greatest Prog Albums Of All Time” by “Prog Magazine” at number 76.


  • Ian Anderson– vocals, flute, acoustic guitar,  mandolin,  cymbals, whistles
  • Martin Barre– electric guitar, lute
  • John Evan– piano, organ, synthesisers
  • Barriemore Barlow– drums, marimba, glockenspiel, bells, nakers, tabor
  • John Glascock– bass guitar, vocals
  • David Palmer– piano, portative pipe organ, synthesisers
  • Keith Howard – wood-cutter
  • Jay L. Lee – front cover painting
  • Shirt Sleeve Studio – back cover

Track listing:

All tracks by Ian Anderson with additional material by Martin Barre and David Palmer.

  1. Songs from the Wood
  2. Jack-in-the-Green
  3. Cup of Wonder
  4. Hunting Girl
  5. Ring Out, Solstice Bells
  6. Velvet Green
  7. The Whistler
  8. Pibroch (Cap in Hand)
  9. Fire at Midnight

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.