On November 7, 1987.


On November 7, 1987, “Virgin” label released “Secrets of the Beehive”, the fourth David Sylvian solo album. It was recorded in 1987, at “London and Bath” in England;” Chateau Miraval” in France and “Wisseloord Studios” in Netherlands, and was produced by Steve Nye.


  • David Sylvian– vocals, piano, acoustic guitar, organ, synths, tapes, treated piano
  • Phil Palmer- slide guitar, acoustic guitars
  • David Torn- electric guitar, guitar loop
  • Ryuichi Sakamoto – organ, synths, piano, treated piano, woodwind, brass and string arrangements
  • Danny Thompson- double bass
  • Steve Jansen– drums
  • Danny Cummings- percussion
  • Mark Isham- flugelhorn, trumpet
  • Brian Gascoigne – orchestral and string arrangements
  • Ann O’Dell – string arrangements
  • Vaughan Oliver(23 Envelope) – design, typography
  • Nigel Grierson (23 Envelope) – still life photography
  • Yuka Fujii – portrait photography

Track listing:

All tracks by David Sylvian.

  1. September
  2. The Boy With the Gun
  3. Maria
  4. Orpheus
  5. The Devil’s Own
  6. When Poets Dreamed of Angels
  7. Mother and Child
  8. Let the Happiness In
  9. Waterfront

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.