On October 24, 1980.


On October 24, 1980, “Virgin” label released “Gentlemen Take Polaroids”, the fourth Japan studio album.  It was recorded in October 1980,  at “Air Studios” and “Townhouse Studios” in London and was produced by John Punter.


  • David Sylvian– vocals, synthesizers, piano, electric guitar
  • Mick Karn– fretless bass guitar, oboe, saxophone, recorder
  • Steve Jansen– drums, synthesizer, percussion
  • Richard Barbieri– synthesizers, sequencer, piano
  • Rob Dean– guitar, ebow
  • Ryuichi Sakamoto– synthesizers
  • Cyo – vocals
  • Barry Guy– double bass
  • Andrew Cauthery – oboe
  • Simon House– violin

Track listing:

All tracks by David Sylvian, except where noted.

  1. Gentlemen Take Polaroids
  2. Swing
  3. Burning Bridges
  4. My New Career
  5. Methods of Dance
  6. Ain’t That Peculiar – Smokey Robinson, Warren ’Pete’ Moore, Marvin Tarplin, Bobby Rogers
  7. Nightporter
  8. Taking island in Africa – Ryuichi Sakamoto, David Sylvian

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.