On September 9, 1985.

Miles Davis - You're under arrest

On September 9, 1985, “Columbia” label released Miles Davis album “You’re under arrest”.  It was recorded January 1984 – January 1985 at “Record Plant Studio” in New York City , and was produced by Miles Davis and Robert Irving III. The album features Davis’ interpretations of two contemporary pop songs: Cyndi Lauper’s “Time After Time” and Michael Jackson’s “Human Nature”


  • Miles Davis – trumpet, synthesizer, Police Voices, Davis Voices
  • John McLaughlin – guitar
  • John Scofield – guitar
  • Bob Berg – soprano saxophone,tenor saxophone
  • Al Foster – drums
  • Vince Wilburn, Jr – drums
  • Robert Irving III – synthesizers, celesta, organ, clavinet
  • Darryl Jones – bass
  • Steve Thorton – percussion, Spanish voice
  • Sting (credited as Gordon Sumner) – French policeman’s voice
  • Marek Olko – Polish voice
  • James “J.R.” Prindiville – handcuffs

Track listing:

  1. One Phone Call / Street Scenes – Miles Davis
  2. Human Nature – John Bettis, Steve Porcaro
  3. MD 1 / Something’s on your mind / MD 2 – Miles Davis, Hubert Eaves III, James “D-Train” Williams
  4. Morrisine – Miles Davis, Morrisine Tynes Irving, Robert Irving III
  5. Katia Prelude – Miles Davis and Robert Irving III
  6. Katia – Miles Davis and Robert Irving III
  7. Time After Time – Cyndi Lauper and Rob Hyman
  8. You’re Under Arrest – John Scofield
  9. Jean Pierre / You’re Under Arrest / Then There Were One – Miles Davis, Robert Irving III, John Scofield

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.