On September 11, 1976.


On September 11, 1976, “Jet” label released “A New World Record”, the sixth Electric Light Orchestra studio album.  It was recorded in July 1976, at the “Musicland Studios” in Munich, and was produced by Jeff Lynne.  For the first time, the album cover features the famous ELO logo, designed by Kosh,


  • Jeff Lynne– vocals, lead, rhythm, acoustic, twelve-string acoustic and slide guitar, percussion, Wurlitzer electric piano, Minimoog
  • Richard Tandy– vocals, piano, Minimoog, Micromoog, electric guitars, clavinet, Concert Spectrum strings, Mellotron, Wurlitzer electric piano, percussion
  • Kelly Groucutt– vocals, bass guitar, percussion, backing vocals
  • Bev Bevan– drums, Minimoog drum, percussion, timpani, gong, backing vocals
  • Mik Kaminski– violin
  • Hugh McDowell– cello
  • Melvyn Gale– cello
  • Mary Thomas – operatic vocals
  • Patti Quatro, Brie Brandt, Addie Lee – backing vocals
  • Jeff Lynne, Richard Tandy, Louis Clark – orchestra and choral arrangements
  • Louis Clark – orchestra conductor

Track listing:

All compositions by Jeff Lynne.

  1. Tightrope
  2. Telephone Line
  3. Rockaria!
  4. Mission (A world Record)
  5. So Fine
  6. Livin’ Thing
  7. Above the Clouds
  8. Do Ya
  9. Shangri-La

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.