On September 9, 1971.


On September 9, 1971, “Apple” label released “Imagine”, the second John Lennon solo studio album. It was recorded February – July , 1971 at the “Ascot Sound Studios”, Surrey; “Abbey Road Studios”, London and “Record Plant” in New York City, and was produced by John Lennon, Yoko Ono and Phil Spector. The album features the track “Imagine”, one of Lennon’s most popular compositions. The album was ranked at number 80 on the “Rolling Stone” magazine’s list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • John Lennon– vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, piano; whistling; ;harmonica
  • George Harrison– electric and slide guitar; dobro
  • Nicky Hopkins– piano; electric piano
  • Klaus Voormann– bass, upright bass
  • Alan White– drums; Tibetan cymbals; vibraphone
  • Jim Keltner– drums
  • Jim Gordon– drums
  • King Curtis– saxophone
  • John Barham– harmonium; vibraphone
  • John Tout- piano
  • Ted Turner, Rod Linton – acoustic guitars
  • Joey Molland, Tom Evans– acoustic guitars
  • Rod Linton, Andy Davis – acoustic guitars
  • The Flux Fiddlers– orchestral strings
  • Phil Spector– backing vocals
  • Michael Pinder– tambourine
  • Steve Brendell – upright bass; maracas

All tarcks by John Lennon, except “Oh My Love” by John Lennon and Yoko Ono.

  1. Imagine
  2. Crippled Inside
  3. Jealous Guy
  4. It’s So Hard
  5. I Don’t Wanna be a Soldier
  6. Gimme Some Truth
  7. Oh My Love
  8. How Do You Sleep?
  9. How?
  10. Oh Yoko!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.