Tag Archives: The Marshall Tucker Band

In August 1975.

On August 20, 1975, “Capricorn” label released “Searchin’ for a Rainbow”, the fourth  Marshall Tucker Band studio album. It was recorded July 1974 – May / June 1975, and was produced by Paul Hornsby.


  • Doug Gray- lead vocals, percussion
  • Toy Caldwell- lead vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, steel guitar
  • Tommy Caldwell- bass guitar, backing vocals
  • George McCorkle – acoustic and electric guitars, guitars, banjo
  • Jerry Eubanks- flute, alto, baritone and tenor saxophone, backing vocals
  • Paul Riddle – drums
  • Dickey Betts- guitar solo
  • Paul Hornsby– piano, organ
  • Charlie Daniels– fiddle
  • Chuck Leavell – electric piano
  • Jerome Joseph – congas
  • Al McDonald – mandolin
  • Leo LaBranche – trumpet, horn section arrangements
  • George Marino – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Toy Caldwell, except where noted.

  1. Fire on the Mountain – George McCorkle
  2. Searchin’ for a Rainbow
  3. Walkin’ and Talkin’
  4. Virginia
  5. Bob Away My Blues
  6. Keeps Me from All Wrong – Tommy Caldwell
  7. Bound and Determined
  8. Can’t You See” (Recorded Live July 31, 1974 at the Performing Arts Center, Milwaukee Wisconsin)

In April 1973.

In April 1973, “Capricorn” label released the debut, self-titled Marshall Tucker Band album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Capricorn Studios” in Macon, Georgia, and was produced by Paul Hornsby.


  • Doug Gray – lead vocals, percussion
  • Toy Caldwell – lead vocals, lead guitar, steel guitar
  • Tommy Caldwell – bass guitar, percussion, backing vocals
  • George McCorkle – acoustic and rhythm guitar, percussion
  • Paul Riddle – drums
  • Jerry Eubanks – flute, alto saxophone, backing vocals
  • Paul Hornsby – acoustic and electric piano, organ, Moog synthesizer
  • Paul Hornsby, Buddy Thornton – recording
  • James Flournoy Holmes – illustrations, design
  • Hearon, J. Duckworth (Camera House) – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Toy Caldwell.

  1. Take the Highway
  2. Can’t You See
  3. Losing You
  4. Hillbilly Band
  5. See You Later, I’m Gone
  6. Ramblin’
  7. My Jesus Told Me So
  8. AB’s Song
  9. Everyday (I Have the Blues)” (Live at Winterland Auditorium, San Francisco, CA, September 1973) – bonus track