Tag Archives: Pye Records

On may 14, 1965.


On May 14, 1965, “Pye Records” label released “What’s Bin Did and What’s Bin Hid”, the debut Donovan album. It was recorded February – March 1965, at “Peer Music” in London, and was produced by Terry Kennedy, Peter Eden and Geoff Stephens.


  • Donovan – vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica
  • Brian Locking- bass
  • Skip Alan (Alan Skipper) – drums
  • Gypsy Dave (David Mills) – kazoo

Track listing:

  1. Josie – Donovan Leitc
  2. Catch the Wind – Donovan Leitch
  3. Remember the Alamo – Jane Bowers
  4. Cuttin’ Out – Donovan Leitch
  5. Car Car – Woody Guthrie
  6. Keep on Truckin – traditional; arranged by Donovan Leitch
  7. Gold Watch Blues – Mick Softley
  8. To Sing for You – Donovan Leitch
  9. You’re Gonna Need Somebody on Your Bond – traditional; arranged by Donovan Leitch
  10. Tangerine Puppet – Donovan Leitch
  11. Donna Donna – Aaron Zeitlin, Sholom Secunda, Arthur S Kevess, Teddi Schwartz
  12. Ramblin’ Boy – Donovan Leitch

On October 28, 1966.


On October 28, 1966 “Pye” label released “Face to Face”, the fourth Kinks studio album.  It was recorded from October 1965 – June  1966, at the “Pye Studios” in London, and was produced by Shel Talmy.


  • Ray Davies– lead vocals, rhythm guitar, mellotron
  • Dave Davies– lead guitar, backing vocals, lead vocals
  • Pete Quaife– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • John Dalton– bass guitar
  • Mick Avory– drums, percussion
  • Nicky Hopkins– keyboards, piano
  • Rasa Davies – backing vocals

Track listing:

All compositions by Ray Davies.

  1. Party Line
  2. Rosie Won’t You Please Com Home
  3. Dandy
  4. Too Much on My Mind
  5. Session Man
  6. Rainy Day in June
  7. A House in the Country
  8. Holiday in Waikiki
  9. Most Exclusive Residence for Sale
  10. Fancy
  11. Little Miss Queen of Darkness
  12. You’re Looking Fine
  13. Sunny Afternoon
  14. I’ll Remember

On April 1, 1966.


On April 1, 1966, “Pye Records” released “Do anything you say”, the debut David Bowie single. Bowie had previously recorded as David Jones and The Lower Third.  Composition “Good morning girl” is the B side of the single. Bowie (vocals, guitar) is accompanied by John Hutchinson (guitar), Derek Fearnley (bass), John Eager (drums) and Derek Boyes (keyboards). The single is produced by Tony Hatch.